Organized July 17, 1924

The History of Ever Ready Lodge #506

Ever Ready Lodge #506 was organized on July 17, 1924. The late A. W. Jackson was the first Worshipful Master. The Lodge served all eligible men in the surrounding County and cities including Needville and Rosenberg. During the 1940’s, the Lodge grew rapidly with membership predominately from Needville, Texas. Master Masons, A.W. Jackson and Will Routt together organized a Lodge in Needville. Most of the men who resided in Needville joined the newly formed Lodge named Routt’s Pride.

Present records indicate the following Brothers served as Worshipful Masters of Ever Ready Lodge # 506: A. W. Jackson 1924-1931; P. L. Lawrence 1931-1935; N. A. Smiley 1935-1936; A. W. Jackson again 1936-1937; Earnest Grant 1937-1938; Will Routt 1938-1949; Carl Newsome 1949-1954; Sherman Wilson 1954-1975; Thomas H. Routt 1975-1981, {who was the sitting State District Judge of District Court 208}. Herman L. Gabriel 1981-1994; Jeremiah Smith 1994-1998; James E. Hooper 1998-2001; Clarence B. Douglas 2001-2002; Floyd W. Heard 2002-2005; Robert E. Willis, Jr. 2005-2007; Darryl W. Mills 2007-2010; John G. Johnson 2010- 2013, Franklin Meyers 2013-2015, Patrick D. Lewis 2015-2017, Derek D. Woods 2017-2019, Rev. Marlon Heard 2019—2022, and Demetrius Lee, Sr. 2022 – Present.

The members moved into the new Hall in January 1993. This was an important development since the Lodge previously rented meeting space until 1960 when land was purchased and paid for over the next five years. An unused Church building was purchased and moved to the present address, 429 West Street and served as the Lodge Hall until construction began on the present Hall. During the period of 1981 through 1994 construction began on the new Lodge Hall at our present site. During that time most of the finishing touches were added to the new Hall with the assistance of James E. Hooper, Reginald Best, Jeremiah Smith and the Building Chairman, Dr. U. W. Watkins, Jr.

From the early 1940’s until present, Ever Ready Lodge has been a viable and noticeable force in Fort Bend and surrounding counties. The Lodge conducted Voter Registration drives and used the Hall as Headquarters for such. Scholarships are given to graduating high school students, financial donations have been made to the Richmond State School, Senior Citizens of Richmond, Rosenberg and Sugar Land, Robert C. Tate Center, Ft Bend County Women’s Shelter of Richmond, Channel 13 Annual Food Drives and other cities and towns in the area.

Our Brothers also belong to various Appendant Bodies, such as: Norris Wright Cuney Order of the Eastern Stars, Heroines of Jericho, Heroines of Templar Crusades, and Order of the Golden Circle. Many of our members also belong to Concordant Bodies, such as: Nobles of the Mystic Shrine; Doric Shrine Temple # 76 of Houston, and have joined the York Rite Holy Royal Arch Masons, Knights Templar, Scottish Rite Masons there are many 32nd and 33rd Degree members who have held elected offices. As of October 2010, there are over 150 Members on the mailing list of Ever Ready Lodge. Membership is made of men who truly seek more knowledge in Masonry.

Ever Ready Lodge is a subordinate Lodge of the Most Worshipful Prince Hall Grand Lodge of Texas and its Jurisdiction. The Grand Lodge of Texas was organized in 1875 and owes its allegiance to the formation of African Lodge # 459 in Boston, MA; which was organized by our first Grand Master, Prince Hall. We celebrate this occasion on the Sunday closest to the 13th day of September every year.

Dignitaries from Ever Ready Lodge # 506 are: Thomas H. Routt – Grand Master 1987-1993 deceased; Sherman Wilson – Right Worshipful Grand Lecturer, 1985 – 1993 deceased; Herman L. Gabriel – Deputy Grand Master 1994-1999, Right Eminent Grand Commander, 1995 – 1997, and appointed Honorary Past Grand Master 2007; Dr. U. W. Watkins, Jr.- Grand Medical Director 1990 present and appointed Honorary Past Grand Master 2010; Willie H. Coleman – Grand Legal Advisor 1994 – Present; 2003 – present; Jeremiah Smith – District Deputy Grand Master of District 16, 1994-2005 deceased; James E. Hooper – District Deputy Grand Master of District 16, 1999-2001, Special District Deputy Grand Master of District 16, 2007-Present and Grand Junior Deacon, 2009 – Present; Sam Hobbs, Jr. – Grand Auditor 1994 – present; Clarence B. Douglas – District Deputy Grand Master of District 16, 2007- present; Floyd W. Heard – Special District Deputy Grand Master of District 16, 2007- present; Darryl W. Mills – Special District Deputy Grand Master of District 16, 2010 – 2012. John Johnson – Special District Deputy Grand Master of District 16, 2014; Rev. Dr. James E. Hamms Chairman Veterans Affairs Committee Most Worship Prince Hall Grand Lodge of Texas 2014. Some of the preceding, and other Lodge members, have held other Grand Lodge offices or have served on Grand Lodge committees.

Other members of the Lodge who have held community, civic, religious, and other positions of trust are hereby mentioned: Medical Profession: Dr. Parnell Avery, Dr. Paris Bransford, Dr. Robert Galloway, Dr. U. W. Watkins, Jr., Dr. James C. Eatson, Dr. Timothy Anderson, Dr. William A. Kern, Dr. James C. Watson, deceased and Dr. Lewis, Dr. Charles Speller. Judges: Judge Joel Clouser, Congressman Al Green, Judge Cecil Bush, Judge John Peavy, Judge Michael R. Fields, Federal Magistrate Judge Calvin Botley, Judge Harrison Gregg, Jr., Judge Fad Wilson, Judge Ronald Nicholas, Attorney Elton Lockins, Eric McFerran.

Others of notable mention are: State Representative District 142 – Harold V. Dutton, Jr.; State Representative Ronald Reynolds District 27, City of Houston Health Director – Dr. James C. Watson; Harris County Commissioner Precinct 1- El Franco Lee, Atty. Willie H. Coleman; Law Enforcement: Fort Bend County – Constable Ruben Davis; Deputy Troy Mayfield, Lt. Gary Majors; City of Wharton – Sr. Patrolman Donald Chaney, City of Houston – Sgt. Clarence B. Douglas, Sgt. Ruben Anderson (Houston Homicide Division), Officer A. J. Mark – Solo Patrol, Texas Department of Public Safety- Captain Gerald Brown, Sgt. Michael Ellison- Harris County Sheriff Department, Metro Police Department – Lt. John W. Wiggins, III, Metro Police Department – Capt. Carl V. Clark, Rev. Bill Lawson, Rev. Robert McGee, Rev. Emanuel Barnes Rev. Marlon Heard and Roosevelt Petry Jr . There are over 40 Lawyers, 5 Law Firms, and 14 independent businesses associated with Ever Ready Lodge# 506.

Ever Ready Lodge # 506 is considered one of the most progressive Lodges in the State of Texas. It has the most members to hold elected or appointed Grand Lodge offices and because of the Masonic works being done by its members. Ever Ready Lodge # 506 was awarded Lodge of the Year 2007-2008 by the Most Worshipful Prince Hall Grand Lodge of the State of Texas. The same year, Past Master Clarence B. Douglas Jr., was named Master Mason of the Year for “Outstanding and Devoted Service”.

A. W. Jackson (educator) is pictured at center in dark suit and tie. Rosenberg, TX, 1920